Select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, it is hoped that this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter. Primary source documents from American History, and approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Britannica School Elementary is a comprehensive source of informational text for younger learners pre-K to grade 5. It includes encyclopedia articles, images, videos, and magazine articles. There is a Britannica Fundamentals section for children Pre-K through grade 2. Tools such as a world atlas, virtual tours, country comparison, etc., allow learners to explore geography and animal kingdom topics. A Britannica Fundamentals provides materials for children Pre-K through second-grade.
Covering civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus, Ebony includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on African-American business, history, politics, entertainment, fashion and culture. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek.
A sophisticated yet simple solution for searching many Gale databases simultaneously, including a wealth periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information from Academic OneFile, General OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand.
This resource provides a significant account of the issue of slavery and its impact on American society and culture. It documents key aspects of the history of slavery in the United States, from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religions views on slavery, and other related topics.
This digital archive provides access to a wide variety of documents – personal narratives, political speeches, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works, and more – published from the time of the transatlantic slave trade to the post-Civil War period.
This resource documents the revolution and war that created the United States Of America, from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. The collection examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the actual war for American independence through its eight long years of conflict. A wealth of material from European point of view is included.
The archive tells the whole story of the American Revolution – the experiences of commanders and common soldiers, women and slaves, American Indians and Loyalists are all recorded. A variety of primary source documents – personal narratives and memoirs, political pamphlets and speeches, sermons and poems, legislative journals and popular magazines, maps, and more.
This resource documents the war that transformed America, ended slavery, and unified the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity – its causes and consequences and its leaders and common soldiers, the home front, and the military campground, and more.
Included are a variety of primary source documents – personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, regimental histories and photograph albums, legal treatises, and children’s books—unveiling a time when friends were enemies, and the United States was torn in half. Every aspect of the Civil War is covered: military, diplomatic, cultural, and legal history as well as special areas of study, including Southern history, African American history, medical history, technology history, and more.
Digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines including history, literature, art, science, philosophy, social science, mathematics, business, cultural studies, public health, security studies, and sustainability. Includes full-text of more than 2,700 top peer-reviewed scholarly and literary journals, 100,000 academic ebooks, images from universities, museums, and private collections, including Artstor, two million primary sources, and audio content.
Multilingual family history research database includes billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes, and additional resources that span the past five centuries including more than 19.4 billion historical records from all over the world, U.S. federal census (1790-1950) with images, U.K. census (1841-1901) with images, nearly 5 billion exclusive family tree profiles from MyHeritage and Geni, more than 816 million US public records, hundreds of millions of Nordic records, more than 100 million gravestone photos, more than 500 million historical photographs, military records, immigration records and passenger lists, citizenship and naturalization records, directories, guides, references, biographies and yearbooks, government, land and court records, wills and probate records, exclusive databases, additional content under license including tributes obituaries, WikiTree, BillionGraves, Canadian Headstones and many others ,More than 100 million records added every month
This iconic monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of society, cultures, nature, science, technology, travel, geography, and more. Complete, unlimited access to the magazine main content through 2020 -- every article from every issue, each fully searchable through an intuitive interface. Includes vivid photographs and historic articles as well as engaging videos and detailed maps. Explore the most recognized name in exploration and discovery, with comprehensive, relevant articles, legendary photographs, and maps. This iconic magazine documents life on our planet and beyond, interpreting the world through the lens of personal story and experience.
This resource includes 112 titles on diversity, equity, and inclusion, and cover subjects such as business, education, fine arts, history, political science, social science, juvenile literature, and sports and recreation.
Explore science from over 230 full-text eBooks! This collection of reference titles covers a wide variety of topics such as animals, biology, climate change, computing, engineering, experiments, life science, nature, oceans, physical science, and weather. Find titles such as:
Content focused on history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, technology, and a dedicated issues database with opposing viewpoints and critical thinking questions. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources, including 400 full-text nonfiction books from publishers such as Britannica, World Book, Rosen Publishing Group, Enslow, and ReferencePoint Press.
Extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. The 4,000 issues include reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news for a given week, the magazine remains an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-Century history and life. The archive is valuable to researchers and students of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
Dust off your old high school Spanish, or tackle your tenth language! After initial access, preview as a "guest" or create an individual account to begin learning any of the 120+ languages, including American Sign Language,
English (ESL/ELL) learning content for speakers of over 30 languages, 30+ endangered North American and world languages. Practice listening, speaking, reading, and writing/typing with interactive lessons and courses.
Build and maintain your vocab with vocab-focused lessons and a strategic review system that keeps it all fresh.
Learn anytime, anywhere with mobile apps that include offline and hands-free modes. Explore a wide range of interests through courses focused on travel, workplace language, and beyond
