It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Studies: Social Studies Home
General Social Studies and History resources, as well as more specific topic guides.
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
A general-interest periodical resource offering over 15,000 titles, more than 8,800 in full text. Includes over 4,400 audio files, 1.2 million videos, 59,000 images, document translation into 40 languages, read-aloud translation into 24 languages, thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from NPR programs from 1990 to present, over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides, full text USA Today from 1985 to present, full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present, full text of AARP The Magazine, and more than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world.
Explore this general-interest periodical resource offering nearly more than 15,000 titles with more than 8,800 in full text. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text, the collection is also supplemented by reference, newspaper, and audio content, including:
Over 4,400 audio files
More than 1.2 million videos
Over 59,000 images
Document translation into 40 languages
Read-aloud translation into 24 languages
Thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from National Public Radio programs from 1990 to present, including searchable transcripts
Over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides
Full text of USA Today from 1985 to present
Full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present
Full text of AARP The Magazine, the highest-circulating magazine in the U.S.
More than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world
18,000+ scholarly journals, with 9,200 in full text, plus other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. The Economist from 1988 to the present, full text The New York Times from 1985 to present. Use TopicFinder to visually refine and expand topics.
A sophisticated yet simple solution for searching many Gale databases simultaneously, including a wealth periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information from Academic OneFile, General OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand.
Discover over 1,900 full-text journals and nearly 1,300 full-text peer-reviewed journals designed for college courses, with coverage consisting of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and more.
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the Opposing Viewpoints book series, the database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio and links to vetted websites.
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Hundreds of continuously updated country profiles and reference, international news, podcasts, videos, interactive maps, and more.
Access to over 16,000 eBooks from the world's leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. Additionally, you may download selected eBooks to portable devices.
Discover reliable and trusted information on a variety of topics to support middle school student research for government, U.S and world history, geography, literature, sciences, and social issues. Research In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state standards, and presents material organized into a highly visual and topic portal approach to quickly find answers. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Extensive database of 20 million royalty-free stock photos for educational use from the photojournalists of world-wide news organization the Associated Press. More than 3,000 photos, images, sound bites, videos, and graphics added daily including breaking news events, today's hot topics, great moments in news, sports and entertainment, and celebrity portraits.
Explore millions of digitized photographs, documents, and newspapers from Pennsylvania's rich and varied history. The collections are provided by libraries and other organizations across the Commonwealth, and include collections covering subjects such as:Art & Architecture, Church & Missionary History, Genealogy, Newspapers, PA Civil War History, Postcards, School and College History, Women’s History, and Yearbooks.
Thousands of videos and digital resources curated by subject matter experts into content collections by grade and topic, including interactive activities, reading passages, audio clips, skill builders, and writing prompts that engage students and extend critical thinking. A one-stop-shop for teachers, it includes instructional resources such as lesson starters, training videos, and classroom strategies to help them invigorate every lesson. Teachers should email the librarian for access code to create a new account.