It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Studies: Ukraine and Russia
General Social Studies and History resources, as well as more specific topic guides.
timely and authoritative information about the history of the ongoing conflict between Russia and Ukraine, providing a deeper understanding of the political, economic, and social impacts of this conflict from a historical perspective
Ukraine is a country with a vibrant and at times troubling past. This book explores the origins of Ukraine, its triumphs and struggles, and examines what it's like to live there today. From its geography to its economy, its language to its festivals, this book gives a current and comprehensive overview of Ukraine.
Russia is the world's largest country. It has a vast history dating back more than one thousand years. During its existence it has seen many wars, different leaders, and political confrontations. Today Russia is an independent nation with many traditions. Its people are diverse. This book takes an in-depth look at Russia and describes how it became the country it is today. All books of the critically-acclaimed Cultures of the World® series ensure an immersive experience by offering vibrant photographs with descriptive nonfiction narratives, and interactive activities such as creating an authentic traditional dish from an easy-to-follow recipe. Copious maps and detailed timelines present the past and present of the country, while exploration of the art and architecture help your readers to understand why diversity is the spice of Life.
Due to factors such as income inequality and multiculturalism, liberal democracies have weakened considerably in the last quarter century. Democratic ideals have retreated in Venezuela, the Philippines, Hungary, Russia, and Poland. Many worry that they're on the decline in such bastions of democracy as western Europe and the United States, where fear and distrust of the status quo has opened the door to authoritarian leaders. Is there any hope of getting back to the prosperity and freedom of the mid-twentieth century? The viewpoints in this enlightening resource tackle this complex topic from a broad range of perspectives.
For many, nuclear anxiety is closely related to the Cold War between the U.S. and U.S.S.R. Following the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki in World War II, the devastating potential of these weapons was all too clear, which led to significant anxiety among civilians, politicians, and military personnel over their use. Though the Cold War ended in 1991, anxieties surrounding nuclear armament remain, and the players involved in these nuclear standoffs have changed over recent decades. Your readers will explore the history and present status of nuclear weaponry, along with its social, political, and health impacts.
Eastern, Central and Southeastern Europe by Salem Press
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Russia and the eastern, central, and southeastern regions of the European continent comprise this volume. Includes profiles of: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Ukraine.
Midnight in Chernobyl by Adam Higginbotham
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Journalist Adam Higginbotham's definitive, years-in-the-making account of the Chernobyl nuclear power plant disaster--and a powerful investigation into how propaganda, secrecy, and myth have obscured the true story of one of the twentieth century's greatest disasters. Early in the morning of April 26, 1986, Reactor Number Four of the Chernobyl Atomic Energy Station exploded, triggering history's worst nuclear disaster. In the thirty years since then, Chernobyl has become lodged in the collective nightmares of the world: shorthand for the spectral horrors of radiation poisoning, for a dangerous technology slipping its leash, for ecological fragility, and for what can happen when a dishonest and careless state endangers its citizens and the entire world. But the real story of the accident, clouded from the beginning by secrecy, propaganda, and misinformation, has long remained in dispute. Drawing on hundreds of hours of interviews conducted over the course of more than ten years, as well as letters, unpublished memoirs, and documents from recently-declassified archives, Adam Higginbotham has written a harrowing and compelling narrative which brings the disaster to life through the eyes of the men and women who witnessed it firsthand. The result is a masterful nonfiction thriller, and the definitive account of an event that changed history: a story that is more complex, more human, and more terrifying than the Soviet myth. Midnight in Chernobyl is an indelible portrait of one of the great disasters of the twentieth century, of human resilience and ingenuity, and the lessons learned when mankind seeks to bend the natural world to his will--lessons which, in the face of climate change and other threats, remain not just vital but necessary.
Russian Hacking in American Elections explains how Russia meddled in the 2016 presidential election. It also discusses the response from the United States and the investigation into the events while encouraging readers to form their own opinions. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
The Collapse of the Soviet Union by Andrew Langley; Derek Shouba (Consultant Editor); Katie Van Sluys (Consultant Editor)
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
At midnight on December 31, 1991, the flag of the Soviet Union came down for the last time, signaling the end of Soviet power and the end of the communist dream. After the Russian Revolution of 1917, Soviet leaders had aimed to establish communism throughout the world. But early idealism turned to dictatorship, fueling the long, terrifying stalemate of the Cold War. By 1989, the Soviet Union was tottering, unable to control its own inhabitants or compete with the West. Its collapse changed global politics forever.
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
A general-interest periodical resource offering over 15,000 titles, more than 8,800 in full text. Includes over 4,400 audio files, 1.2 million videos, 59,000 images, document translation into 40 languages, read-aloud translation into 24 languages, thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from NPR programs from 1990 to present, over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides, full text USA Today from 1985 to present, full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present, full text of AARP The Magazine, and more than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world.
Explore this general-interest periodical resource offering nearly more than 15,000 titles with more than 8,800 in full text. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text, the collection is also supplemented by reference, newspaper, and audio content, including:
Over 4,400 audio files
More than 1.2 million videos
Over 59,000 images
Document translation into 40 languages
Read-aloud translation into 24 languages
Thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from National Public Radio programs from 1990 to present, including searchable transcripts
Over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides
Full text of USA Today from 1985 to present
Full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present
Full text of AARP The Magazine, the highest-circulating magazine in the U.S.
More than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Hundreds of continuously updated country profiles and reference, international news, podcasts, videos, interactive maps, and more.
Extensive database of 20 million royalty-free stock photos for educational use from the photojournalists of world-wide news organization the Associated Press. More than 3,000 photos, images, sound bites, videos, and graphics added daily including breaking news events, today's hot topics, great moments in news, sports and entertainment, and celebrity portraits.