OASD Library Guides: Science: Forensic Science

Book Series

The Encyclopedia of Serial Killers by Michael Newton
ISBN: 9780816069873
Publication Date: 2006-02-01
Crime and Punishment in America by Sarah Hermsen; Richard Clay Hanes; Sharon M. Hanes
ISBN: 9780787691745
Publication Date: 2004-12-17

Open the MackinVIA app to view these books

The Psychology of Serial Killers by Don Rauf
ISBN: 9780766072916
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Bloodletters and Badmen by Jay Robert Nash
ISBN: 9781461704256
Behold the Monster by Jillian Lauren
ISBN: 9781728267777
Publication Date: 2023
Ted Bundy by Carlie Lawson
ISBN: 9781422247181
Publication Date: 2022-01-01
I Know Who You Are by Barbara Rae-Venter
ISBN: 9780593358894
Publication Date: 2023-02-07

Individual Books

Mass Shootings by Jaclyn Schildkraut; H. Jaymi Elsass
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781440836534
Publication Date: 2016-02-22
Deviance and Crime (Student Handbook to Sociology) by Glenn W. Muschert
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781438139845
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Investigating Mass Shootings in the United States by Bridget Heing
ISBN: 9781508174639
Publication Date: 2017-07-15
Mass Shootings in America by Duchess Harris; Jennifer Simms
ISBN: 9781532158278
Publication Date: 2018-12-15

Careers in Forensics

Infobase eBooks
Search and view the full-text of books on a wide array of topics right from your computer screen. Most titles also available in print on the library shelves. Now with the addition of thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history to science, literature, and more.
Salem Press Online
Online edition of the library's print collection of award-winning Salem Press titles including historical primary sources, literary reference, and health resources.
Classroom Video On Demand: (Infobase)
Huge collection of professional career interview videos!

Tips for Searching the AccessIt Library Catalog

Search AccessIt for the books on specific names or crimes/cases.
Check the Forensic resource list of titles from the library's print collection.
Return books to the reserve area at the end of each period for the duration of the project.

More book collections

Gale eBooks
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
EBSCO eBooks
- This link opens in a new window

Reference Books

Forsensic Science by Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 363.25 FOR
ISBN: 9781619257290
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
This completely updated, new edition of Forensic Science approaches its subject from multiple directions. One primary approach is from the points of view of forensic investigators. In addition to its core essays on subspecialties and allied fields, the set has essays on specific types of investigations, investigative techniques, specialised equipment, and types of evidence. Also included is coverage of the role of forensic science in the American legal system. The articles define the topic and summarise their relevance to forensic science. This new edition adds hundreds of new entries and a complete update of existing entries to offer a comprehensive overview of this popular field.
Forensic Science by William J. Tilstone
ISBN: 9781576075920
Publication Date: 2006-05-11
Who can forget OJ's bloody gloves? Or the grisly autopsy pictures of slain President John F. Kennedy? The work of forensic scientists both fascinates and repels us, and this A-Z reference reveals everything you wanted to know about the field in over 300 entries.

NoodleTools Express

Just need one or two quick citations?
No need to log in or subscribe -- simply generate them in NoodleTools Express and copy and paste what you need into your document.

Resources from the Web

Magazines and Journals

OAHS Database Passwords

Email or see Mrs. Liljestrand (sliljestrand@oxfordasd.org) for the password to access this full list of database passwords.

News (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Browse and read full-text newspapers from more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, plus leading titles from around the world, or search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Full-text access to The New York Times from 1985 to present
Academic Search Main Edition (Ebsco)
- This link opens in a new window
Discover over 1,900 full-text journals and nearly 1,300 full-text peer-reviewed journals designed for college courses, with coverage consisting of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and more.
High School Onefile (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Secondary school student-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies including 2,000+ periodicals in full-text, thousands of images, audio files, and videos. Document and read aloud translation into and a unique visual search tool to connect concepts and guide the research.

World Book Advanced

World Book Advanced
An online version of the World Book Encyclopedia enhanced with multimedia content, e-books, primary sources, biographies, a dictionary, an atlas, and thousands of editor-selected Web sites.

History Databases

U.S. History in Context (Gale)
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World History in Context (Gale)
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.