It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Science: Computer Science
General science resources, as well as more specific topic guides for research.
This six-volume set covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Consisting of alphabetically arranged entries, it provides a user-friendly format that makes the broad scope of information easy to access and decipher. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific subjects and define terms. Longer entries conclude with a bibliography. The 4th edition has been completely updated and includes more than 75 new entries on key scientific topics in the news, including: DNA databanks, Crime Scene Investigations, Internet Search Engines, Podcasts, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Wireless Communications and much more.
25 titles in the Science Foundations series explore topics that are essential to the study of Earth and the physical, chemical, and biological sciences in an accessible and easy-to-read, yet detailed format. Each title thoroughly covers basic science concepts and then looks beyond them to teach readers about our world and the universe. From the tiniest quantum particle to the expansion of the universe, the volumes in this series provide excellent supplements to an extensive science curriculum.
Eight titles in this set are an ideal learning tool for students and teachers. Each highly illustrated volume is dedicated to a particular branch of science and features approximately 600 full-color illustrations. Full-color diagrams, graphs, charts, and maps on every page illustrate the essential elements of the subject, while parallel text provides key definitions and step-by-step explanations. Clear organization, a comprehensive glossary, Internet resources, and an index enhance these informative, illustrated resources.
A series of twelve, safe classroom experiments that enables students to comprehend science in a hands-on way. The high-interest experiments in these books put students' minds into gear and give them opportunities to become involved, think independently, and build on their own base of science knowledge. Closely aligned with the National Science Education Standards, the Facts On File Science Experiments series provides teachers with new and innovative classroom activities that are presented in a clear, easy-to-understand style.
Perform research from hundreds of full text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other reliable sources. View more than 280,000 high-quality science images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
18,000+ scholarly journals, with 9,200 in full text, plus other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. The Economist from 1988 to the present, full text The New York Times from 1985 to present. Use TopicFinder to visually refine and expand topics.
A general-interest periodical resource offering over 15,000 titles, more than 8,800 in full text. Includes over 4,400 audio files, 1.2 million videos, 59,000 images, document translation into 40 languages, read-aloud translation into 24 languages, thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from NPR programs from 1990 to present, over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides, full text USA Today from 1985 to present, full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present, full text of AARP The Magazine, and more than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world.
Explore this general-interest periodical resource offering nearly more than 15,000 titles with more than 8,800 in full text. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text, the collection is also supplemented by reference, newspaper, and audio content, including:
Over 4,400 audio files
More than 1.2 million videos
Over 59,000 images
Document translation into 40 languages
Read-aloud translation into 24 languages
Thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from National Public Radio programs from 1990 to present, including searchable transcripts
Over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides
Full text of USA Today from 1985 to present
Full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present
Full text of AARP The Magazine, the highest-circulating magazine in the U.S.
More than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world
Access to over 16,000 eBooks from the world's leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. Additionally, you may download selected eBooks to portable devices.