Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
This six-volume set covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Consisting of alphabetically arranged entries, it provides a user-friendly format that makes the broad scope of information easy to access and decipher. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific subjects and define terms. Longer entries conclude with a bibliography. The 4th edition has been completely updated and includes more than 75 new entries on key scientific topics in the news, including: DNA databanks, Crime Scene Investigations, Internet Search Engines, Podcasts, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Wireless Communications and much more.
Explains biological concepts and explores related fields as well as the history of biological science. Discusses critical issues such as embryogenesis and commercial applications of research in biology and addresses ethical issues. Provides information on careers in biology and contains color illustrations, sidebars, bibliographies, timelines, charts, and a glossary.
World of Earth Science
This title in Thomson Gale's "World of... Series is a comprehensive guide to the concepts, theories, discoveries, pioneers and issues relating to topics in earth science. "World of Earth Science's encyclopedic approach offers approximately 650 entries in a convenient A-Z format, cross-reference headings and is written in easy to understand language.
Describes the structure, chemical properties, common compounds, and practical uses for each element.
Three-volume set covering biotechnology applications ranging across medicine, agriculture, and industry. Devoted to helping younger students and general readers understand the fast-developing science and issues related to: advances in biotechnology, the science of molecular biology and genetics.
UXL Encyclopedia of Water Science
This encyclopedia explores water science and issues from an international perspective. Topics covered include lakes and streams, oceans, aquatic animals, weather and climate, glaciers, wetlands, ecology, hydropower, commercial fishing, acid rain, recreation, pollution, economics, water conservation, international water law, global warming and much more.
U. X. L Complete Life Science Resource
Explores the facinating world of the life sciences, explaining the theories, concepts, discoveries, and developments frequently studied by today's students.
U-X-L Encyclopedia of Biomes
Offers detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans' culture and economy.
Science Foundations Series
25 titles in the Science Foundations series explore topics that are essential to the study of Earth and the physical, chemical, and biological sciences in an accessible and easy-to-read, yet detailed format. Each title thoroughly covers basic science concepts and then looks beyond them to teach readers about our world and the universe. From the tiniest quantum particle to the expansion of the universe, the volumes in this series provide excellent supplements to an extensive science curriculum.
Science Visual Resources Series
Eight titles in this set are an ideal learning tool for students and teachers. Each highly illustrated volume is dedicated to a particular branch of science and features approximately 600 full-color illustrations. Full-color diagrams, graphs, charts, and maps on every page illustrate the essential elements of the subject, while parallel text provides key definitions and step-by-step explanations. Clear organization, a comprehensive glossary, Internet resources, and an index enhance these informative, illustrated resources.
Facts on File Science Experiments
A series of twelve, safe classroom experiments that enables students to comprehend science in a hands-on way. The high-interest experiments in these books put students' minds into gear and give them opportunities to become involved, think independently, and build on their own base of science knowledge. Closely aligned with the National Science Education Standards, the Facts On File Science Experiments series provides teachers with new and innovative classroom activities that are presented in a clear, easy-to-understand style.
The Solar System Series
A six volume series that explores the relationship between the Sun and its orbiters, including Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto, as well as asteroids, meteorites, and comets. Space missions that helped the scientific community gain a more thorough understanding of solar system bodies are introduced, along with images and discussions related to each particular subject. Each book discusses the the importance of viewing the solar system as a continuum of sizes and types of bodies, as well as the role of planets or other small bodies as recorders of the formation of the solar system.
Physics in Action
Physics in Action explores the fascinating science of matter and energy and their interactions. This practical series is a tour of the world of physics, from the smallest particles that make up matter to the immense forces that move the continents. Full-color throughout and filled with detailed features, these engaging volumes drive home the fundamental science by providing accessible real-life examples that offer students an empowering research tool to complement their curriculum.
Science Reference Center
Perform research from hundreds of full text science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other reliable sources. View more than 280,000 high-quality science images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.
Environmental Studies In Conext (Gale)
Explore a global, interdisciplinary resource on the environment, energy, natural resources, and sustainability studies. News, background information, video, commentaries, primary source documents and statistics in topic areas such as energy systems, healthcare, food, climate change, population, and economic development. Learning portals for more than 160 nations, topic/issue portals for 150+ categories, from animal welfare to wind energy. Organizational portals provide overview and links to international organizations. More than 690 full-text journals, 17,000 audio files, 6,100 videos, and 16,900 images.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
18,000+ scholarly journals, with 9,200 in full text, plus other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. The Economist from 1988 to the present, full text The New York Times from 1985 to present. Use TopicFinder to visually refine and expand topics.
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Search and view the full-text of books on a wide array of topics right from your computer screen. Most titles also available in print on the library shelves.
eBooks on EBSCO
Access to over 16,000 eBooks from the world's leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. Additionally, you may download selected eBooks to portable devices.
Health & Wellness (Gale)
Reliable health information through full-text articles on nursing and allied health journals, pamphlets, newsletters, periodicals, newspapers, encyclopedias, and more. Accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, including diseases, disorders, traditional and alternative therapies, and current hot topics. Content is added daily to ensure up-to-date health content.
World Book Advanced
An online version of the World Book Encyclopedia enhanced with multimedia content, e-books, primary sources, biographies, a dictionary, an atlas, and thousands of editor-selected Web sites.