Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for Searching the Destiny Library Catalog
- Search the AccessIt Catalog for the subject's name, as well as general terms (occupation, gender, ethnicity, etc.). Spell search terms correctly!
- Check the selection of Notable Figures or Biographies and Memoirs titles from the library's print collection on the reserve cart in the computer lab. Books should be returned to the cart at the end of each period for the duration of the project.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.
Contemporary Authors (Gale)
Biographical and bibliographical information on more than 160,000 of today's most influential authors, including novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, print & broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, scriptwriters, and screenwriters.
World Book Advanced
An online version of the World Book Encyclopedia enhanced with multimedia content, e-books, primary sources, biographies, a dictionary, an atlas, and thousands of editor-selected Web sites.
U.S. History in Context (Gale)
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
OneFile: High School (Gale)
Secondary school student-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies including 2,000+ periodicals in full-text, thousands of images, audio files, and videos. Document and read aloud translation into and a unique visual search tool to connect concepts and guide the research.
Middle School In Context (Gale)
Discover reliable and trusted information on a variety of topics to support middle school student research for government, U.S and world history, geography, literature, sciences, and social issues. Research In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state standards, and presents material organized into a highly visual and topic portal approach to quickly find answers. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
World History in Context (Gale)
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.