OASD Library Guides: English: A Separate Peace

Gale eBook Literature for Students Series - Literary Analysis

Novels for Students Series
ISBN: 9780787616861
This volume contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions of the literary and historical significance of 15 works from various cultures and times. Includes author biography, plot and chapter overview, historical context, character profiles, style, themes, and criticism.
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace by Thomson Gale
ISBN: 9781414404967
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
This new set examines the overriding themes found in literature. This approach particularly helps students build critical thinking skills by making connections between thematically-similar works of literature, as well as providing a more global perspective by comparing and contrasting works from around the world. Beyond outlining the general treatment of the theme in American, British and world literature, the set profiles authors and highlights 37 major works centered around the theme. Also included are an extended list of works in all genres and media (fine art, dance, film, etc.) related to the theme as well as subject and title indexes.

Infobase eBooks
Search and view the full-text of books on a wide array of topics right from your computer screen. Most titles also available in print on the library shelves. Now with the addition of thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history to science, literature, and more.

A Separate Peace by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438114781
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
In this classic tale, a young man comes of age at a northern boarding school amidst the backdrop of World War II. Knowles's protagonist looks back at the time he spent at the academy, a transitional period between childhood and adulthood when he struggled
John Knowles' a Separate Peace by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781604131857
Publication Date: 2009-04-30
In this American classic, a young man comes of age and struggles with a loss of innocence and friendship at a northern boarding school amidst the backdrop of World War II. The full-length essays in this volume provide a comprehensive critical overview of John Knowles s best-known novel. This latest edition in the Bloom s Modern Critical Interpretations series features a chronology, bibliography, and an index, as well as notes on the contributors and an introductory essay from noted literary scholar Harold Bloom.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.

OAHS Database Passwords
Email or see Mrs. Liljestrand (sliljestrand@oxfordasd.org) for the password to access this full list of database passwords.

War in John Knowles's a Separate Peace by Dedria Bryfonski (Editor)
Call Number: 813 WAR
ISBN: 9780737752694
Publication Date: 2011-01-19
This compelling volume explores the complexities of adolescent friendship in John Knowles's A Separate Place. Essays discuss the life of John Knowles, the role of personal experience in fiction, how the novel explores the roots of war, as well as contemporary perspectives on how war in Afghanistan is increasing bullying among children, and how sports bring joy despite the realities of war.

In AccessIt, keyword search the author's name, title of the work, and/or the genre (novel, drama, poetry, etc.) for titles providing analysis of the author's writing and the work.
Consult the literary analysis titles on the reserve for the project (books should be returned to the cart in the back of the computer lab for the duration of the project).

Email Me

Contact:

705 Waterway Road
Oxford, PA 19363

610-932-6640