OASD Library Guides: English: Civil Rights Movement

Noodlebib Mini Guide

Noodlebib is a web-based tool that helps you cite information sources in MLA or APA style, take notes, outline, and organize your research. Getting started
See our Noodlebib Guide for more information.

Taking Notes in Noodlebib
An overview of the note taking process using the Noodlebib notecard feature.
Notecard Checklist
Use this checklist to confirm that the information in your notecards is complete before exporting into a word processing program.

Export Sources to Create a Works Cited Page

From the Sources screen, select Print/Export
Select Formatting Options to set your header (your last name).
Select Export as a Word Doc (or Google Docs).
Locate the downloaded file in your browser and open in a Word, Pages, or other program.
Add the works cited to the last page of your paper or save as a stand-alone document.

Export Your Works Cited List
Export your citation/source list to print, or save to a word processing program like Microsoft Word or Pages.

Export Information in Notecards to Word

From the Notecard screen, confirm that all notecards have been moved into your outline in the desired order.
Select Print > Outline with Notecards
Select Export to Word or Google Docs
Deselect all checkboxes EXCEPT for Quotation, Paraphrase, and My Ideas
Select submit and follow the prompts from your browser to open download in Word/Google docs.
See the document below for more detailed instructions.

Exporting your Outline and Notecards in Noodlebib
Follow these instructions to move the information in your note cards from Noodlebib to a word processing document.

Free Websites - General U.S. History

Free Websites - African American History and Culture

Tips for Searching the AccessIt Library Catalog

Search the Destiny catalog for names of specific people, groups and events.
View the Civil Rights resource list (also access it on the left side bar in the Destiny).
Consult the print resources on the cart reserved for the project (books should be returned to the cart in the back of the computer lab for the duration of the project).

The March on Washington

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., third from left, marches in a line of men with arms linked during the March on Washington for civil rights on Aug. 28, 1963. Associated Press. Civil Rights March. 1963. Nysut.org. Web. 16 Oct. 2014.

Literary/Author Reference

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.
JSTOR
Digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines including history, literature, art, science, philosophy, social science, mathematics, business, cultural studies, public health, security studies, and sustainability. Includes full-text of more than 2,700 top peer-reviewed scholarly and literary journals, 100,000 academic ebooks, images from universities, museums, and private collections, including Artstor, two million primary sources, and audio content.

Databases

U.S. History in Context (Gale)
Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
High School Onefile (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Secondary school student-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies including 2,000+ periodicals in full-text, thousands of images, audio files, and videos. Document and read aloud translation into and a unique visual search tool to connect concepts and guide the research.
Infobase eBooks
Search and view the full-text of books on a wide array of topics right from your computer screen. Most titles also available in print on the library shelves. Now with the addition of thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history to science, literature, and more.
World Book Advanced
An online version of the World Book Encyclopedia enhanced with multimedia content, e-books, primary sources, biographies, a dictionary, an atlas, and thousands of editor-selected Web sites.
SIRS Discoverer
- This link opens in a new window
Content focused on history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, technology, and a dedicated issues database with opposing viewpoints and critical thinking questions. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources, including 400 full-text nonfiction books from publishers such as Britannica, World Book, Rosen Publishing Group, Enslow, and ReferencePoint Press.
Middle School In Context (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Discover reliable and trusted information on a variety of topics to support middle school student research for government, U.S and world history, geography, literature, sciences, and social issues. Research In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state standards, and presents material organized into a highly visual and topic portal approach to quickly find answers. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.
Gale Power Search
A sophisticated yet simple solution for searching many Gale databases simultaneously, including a wealth periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information from Academic OneFile, General OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand.

Salem Onine

Your Librarian

Suzy Liljestrand

Email Me

Contact:

705 Waterway Road
Oxford, PA 19363

610-932-6640