OASD Library Guides: English: Brave New World

Gale eBook Literature for Students Series - Literary Analysis

Novels for Students Series
ISBN: 9780787616861
This volume contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions of the literary and historical significance of 15 works from various cultures and times. Includes author biography, plot and chapter overview, historical context, character profiles, style, themes, and criticism.
Brave New World by Huxley Aldous
ISBN: 9781619252387
Publication Date: 2014-04-30
This volume of criticism presents a variety of new essays on Aldous Huxley's Brave New World, a classic in the science fiction and dystopian genres. These essays delve into the cultural, historical, comparative and critical contexts for understanding Brave New World. For readers who are studying it for the first time, several essays survey the critical conversation regarding this work from all standard critical perspectives - social, gender, post-modern, psychological, and cultural as well as the more traditional historical and close readings.

Infobase eBooks Critical Essays (Bloom's Literary Analysis)

Infobase eBooks
Search and view the full-text of books on a wide array of topics right from your computer screen. Most titles also available in print on the library shelves. Now with the addition of thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history to science, literature, and more.

Brave New World: Bloom's Guides by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 9781438136004
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Brave New World is Aldous Huxley's most influential novel. It presents a dystopian depiction of the state of the world in the distant future. Many credit the bold scope of his vision with popularizing interest in scientific study. In an age of genetic engineering and virtual reality, Harold Bloom suggests in his introduction that the work is at once threadbare and more relevant than ever. This new edition of critical excerpts also includes an annotated bibliography of Huxley's works and an index for easy reference.
Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretations by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 9781438138060
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
- Critical essays reflecting a variety of schools of criticism. - Notes on the contributing critics, a chronology of the author's life, and an index. - An introductory essay by Harold Bloom.
Brave New World: Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretations by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 143818610X
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Brave New World is Aldous Huxley's most influential novel. It presents a dystopian depiction of the state of the world in the distant future. Many credit the bold scope of his vision with popularizing interest in scientific study. In an age of genetic engineering and virtual reality, Harold Bloom suggests in his introduction to this collection of full-length critical essays that the work is at once threadbare and more relevant than ever.
Brave New World: Bloom's Guides, Original Edition by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438194752
Publication Date: 2019
Huxley's imaginatively futuristic novel warns of the dangers of sacrificing freedom and individuality for scientific progress and social stability.

Selected Articles

Literature Analysis & Reference Databases

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.
Academic Search Main Edition (Ebsco)
- This link opens in a new window
Discover over 1,900 full-text journals and nearly 1,300 full-text peer-reviewed journals designed for college courses, with coverage consisting of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and more.
High School Onefile (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Secondary school student-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies including 2,000+ periodicals in full-text, thousands of images, audio files, and videos. Document and read aloud translation into and a unique visual search tool to connect concepts and guide the research.

DATABASE PASSWORDS

OAHS Database Passwords
Email or see Mrs. Liljestrand (sliljestrand@oxfordasd.org) for the password to access this full list of database passwords.

Print Books

Aldous Huxley's Brave New World by Harold Bloom (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: 813 WAR
ISBN: 9780791040553
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
-- Presents concise, easy-to-understand biographical, critical, and bibliographical information on a specific literary work -- Provides multiple sources for book reports and term papers with a wealth of information on literary works, authors, and major characters -- Digests of critical extracts prefaced by headnotes

Tips for Searching the AccessIt Library Catalog

In AccessIt, keyword search the author's name, title of the work, and/or the genre (novel, drama, poetry, etc.) for titles providing analysis of the author's writing and the work.
Consult the literary analysis titles on the reserve for the project (books should be returned to the cart in the back of the computer lab for the duration of the project).

Your Librarian

Suzy Liljestrand

Email Me

Contact:

705 Waterway Road
Oxford, PA 19363

610-932-6640