It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General resources for English and more specific topic guides
This volume contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions of the literary and historical significance of 15 works from various cultures and times. Includes author biography, plot and chapter overview, historical context, character profiles, style, themes, and criticism.
This series is designed specifically to meet the curricular needs of high school and undergraduate college students studying poetry. A quick but information-rich reference source, each volume of Poetry for Students provides analysis of 16 poems that teachers and librarians have identified as the most frequently studied.
- Concise critical excerpts that provide a scholarly overview of each work - "The Story Behind the Story," detailing the conditions under which the work was written - A biographical sketch of the author, a descriptive list of characters, an extensive summary and analysis, and an annotated bibliography.
Composed about CE 1000, Beowulf is the longest known poem written in Old English. Considered one of the great epics, the Anglo-Saxon saga relates the heroic deeds of the warrior Beowulf, who kills the man-eating monster Grendel, and the monster's mother. Containing touches of Christian and pagan symbolism, Beowulf is the source of many medieval and Renaissance legends. It also influenced J.R.R. Tolkien, and helped spawn the fantasy genre so popular today in literature and film. Arm students for immersion in the study of this mythic adventure with Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretations. Newly updated, Beowulf includes full-length, interpretive essays that provide expert commentary, as well as introductions, a chronology, notes on the contributors, and a bibliography.
Tips for Searching the Destiny Library Catalog
In DESTINY, keyword search the author's name, title of the work, and/or the genre (novel, drama, poetry, etc.) for titles providing analysis of the author's writing and the work.
Consult the literary analysis titles on the reserve for the project (books should be returned to the cart in the back of the computer lab for the duration of the project).
A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.
18,000+ scholarly journals, with 9,200 in full text, plus other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. The Economist from 1988 to the present, full text The New York Times from 1985 to present. Use TopicFinder to visually refine and expand topics.
A general-interest periodical resource offering over 15,000 titles, more than 8,800 in full text. Includes over 4,400 audio files, 1.2 million videos, 59,000 images, document translation into 40 languages, read-aloud translation into 24 languages, thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from NPR programs from 1990 to present, over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides, full text USA Today from 1985 to present, full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present, full text of AARP The Magazine, and more than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world.
Explore this general-interest periodical resource offering nearly more than 15,000 titles with more than 8,800 in full text. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text, the collection is also supplemented by reference, newspaper, and audio content, including:
Over 4,400 audio files
More than 1.2 million videos
Over 59,000 images
Document translation into 40 languages
Read-aloud translation into 24 languages
Thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from National Public Radio programs from 1990 to present, including searchable transcripts
Over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides
Full text of USA Today from 1985 to present
Full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present
Full text of AARP The Magazine, the highest-circulating magazine in the U.S.
More than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world