In-depth critical discussions of William Shakespeare's play - Plus complimentary, unlimited online access to the full content of this great literary reference. Essay topics will include consciousness, conscience, and madness in Macbeth and the lasting influence of the play. The volume will discuss the work on stage and screen and look at themes of environmentalism, nationalism and witchcraft in one of Shakespeare's most popular plays. Each essay is 2,500 to 5,000 words in length, and all essays conclude with a list of ""Works Cited,"" along with endnotes. Finally, the volume's appendixes offer a section of useful reference resources: About This Volume Critical Context: Original Introductory Essays Critical Readings: Original In-Depth Essays Further Readings Detailed Bibliography Detailed Bio of the Editor General Subject Index
A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.
18,000+ scholarly journals, with 9,200 in full text, plus other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as, biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. The Economist from 1988 to the present, full text The New York Times from 1985 to present. Use TopicFinder to visually refine and expand topics.
Secondary school student-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies including 2,000+ periodicals in full-text, thousands of images, audio files, and videos. Document and read aloud translation into and a unique visual search tool to connect concepts and guide the research.
A general-interest periodical resource offering over 15,000 titles, more than 8,800 in full text. Includes over 4,400 audio files, 1.2 million videos, 59,000 images, document translation into 40 languages, read-aloud translation into 24 languages, thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from NPR programs from 1990 to present, over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides, full text USA Today from 1985 to present, full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present, full text of AARP The Magazine, and more than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world.
Explore this general-interest periodical resource offering nearly more than 15,000 titles with more than 8,800 in full text. With millions of articles available in PDF and HTML full-text, the collection is also supplemented by reference, newspaper, and audio content, including:
Over 4,400 audio files
More than 1.2 million videos
Over 59,000 images
Document translation into 40 languages
Read-aloud translation into 24 languages
Thousands of videos, podcasts, and images from National Public Radio programs from 1990 to present, including searchable transcripts
Over 180 Dorling Kindersley travel guides
Full text of USA Today from 1985 to present
Full text of The Christian Science Monitor from 1996 to present
Full text of AARP The Magazine, the highest-circulating magazine in the U.S.
More than 200 active wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events around the world
Discover literature content from more than 150,000 full-text poems, 840,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays published in the 16th-20th centuries, 2,400 full-text speeches, and 1,250 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary. Within LitFinder's collection, users can access works from over 80,000 authors from 660 nationalities. Find everything from the sonnets of Shakespeare to the poetry of Maya Angelou, the poetry of the 13th century to contemporary poems by African American women, the inaugural speeches of George Washington through George W. Bush, short stories by Edgar Allan Poe to stories by up-and-coming writer Elizabeth Weld, or essays on such subjects as the arts, science, and religion.
Discover fiction and non-fiction books that match your interests! Books and Authors (powered by Gale's popular What Do I Read Next? series) is for readers from every level of reading proficiency and enables users to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics from more than 240,000 titles.
Discover reliable and trusted information on a variety of topics to support middle school student research for government, U.S and world history, geography, literature, sciences, and social issues. Research In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state standards, and presents material organized into a highly visual and topic portal approach to quickly find answers. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.