OASD Library Guides: English: Lord of the Flies

Gale eBook Literature for Students Series - Literary Analysis

Novels for Students Series
ISBN: 9780787616861

This volume contains easily accessible and context-rich discussions of the literary and historical significance of 15 works from various cultures and times. Includes author biography, plot and chapter overview, historical context, character profiles, style, themes, and criticism.

Salem eBook Critical Literary Analysis

Lord of the Flies by Sarah Fredericks; William Golding
ISBN: 9781682175675

Publication Date: 2017-09-30

This volume of criticism presents a variety of new essays on Aldous Huxley's Brave New World, a classic in the science fiction and dystopian genres. These essays delve into the cultural, historical, comparative and critical contexts for understanding Brave New World. For readers who are studying it for the first time, several essays survey the critical conversation regarding this work from all standard critical perspectives - social, gender, post-modern, psychological, and cultural as well as the more traditional historical and close readings.

Infobase eBooks Critical Essays (Bloom's Literary Analysis)

Infobase eBooks
Search and view the full-text of books on a wide array of topics right from your computer screen. Most titles also available in print on the library shelves. Now with the addition of thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history to science, literature, and more.

William Golding's Lord of the Flies by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 9781438135397

Publication Date: 2010

Discusses the writing of Lord of the flies by William Golding. Includes critical essays on the work and a brief biography of the author.
William Golding's Lord of the Flies, New Edition by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 9781438135397

Publication Date: 2019

Updated edition. Discusses the writing of Lord of the flies by William Golding. Includes critical essays on the work and a brief biography of the author.
Lord of the Flies - William Golding by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438113982

Publication Date: 2008

A collection of essays analyzing Golding's classic novel, including a chronology of his works and life.
Lord of the Flies - William Golding, New Edition by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438113982

Publication Date: 2021

Updated edition. A collection of essays analyzing Golding's classic novel, including a chronology of his works and life.

Citing the Bible

Works Cited Examples

The Bible. Authorized King James Version, Oxford UP, 1998.

The New Jerusalem Bible. Edited by Susan Jones, Doubleday, 1985.

In-text Citation

In the first in-text citation, indicate which bible you are using in italics, along with the book, chapter, and verse. In subsequent reference, list only the book, chapter, and verse.

Ezekiel saw "what seemed to be four living creatures," each with faces of a man, a lion, an ox, and an eagle (New Jerusalem Bible, Ezek. 1.5-10).

Selected Articles

Literature Analysis & Reference Databases

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.
JSTOR
Digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines including history, literature, art, science, philosophy, social science, mathematics, business, cultural studies, public health, security studies, and sustainability. Includes full-text of more than 2,700 top peer-reviewed scholarly and literary journals, 100,000 academic ebooks, images from universities, museums, and private collections, including Artstor, two million primary sources, and audio content.
Academic Search Main Edition (Ebsco)
Discover over 1,900 full-text journals and nearly 1,300 full-text peer-reviewed journals designed for college courses, with coverage consisting of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and more.
High School Onefile (Gale)
Secondary school student-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies including 2,000+ periodicals in full-text, thousands of images, audio files, and videos. Document and read aloud translation into and a unique visual search tool to connect concepts and guide the research.

DATABASE PASSWORDS

OAHS Database Passwords
Email or see Mrs. Liljestrand (sliljestrand@oxfordasd.org) for the password to access this full list of database passwords.

Psychology Reference

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology by Jacqueline Longe (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028683898

Publication Date: 2022
Psychology and Mental Health by Nancy A. Piotrowski; Paul Moglia (General Editor); Salem Press Staff
Call Number: 150.3 PSY

ISBN: 9781587655562

Print Books

Violence in William Golding's Lord of the Flies by Dedria Bryfonski (Editor)
Call Number: 813 WAR

ISBN: 9780737746181

Publication Date: 2009-09-08

Collects twenty essays on William Golding's "Lord of the Flies," covering biographical information about the author, themes of violence within the work as they relate to society and psychology, and perspectives linked to the War on Terror and other modern social issues.
Lord of the Flies by Andy Koopmans
ISBN: 9781560067863

Publication Date: 2003-06-18

Discusses the author, historical background, plot, characters, and themes of the book "Lord of the Flies."

Tips for Searching the AccessIt Library Catalog

In AccessIt, keyword search the author's name, title of the work, and/or the genre (novel, drama, poetry, etc.) for titles providing analysis of the author's writing and the work.
Consult the literary analysis titles on the reserve for the project (books should be returned to the cart in the back of the computer lab for the duration of the project).

Your Librarian

Suzy Liljestrand

Email Me

Contact:

705 Waterway Road
Oxford, PA 19363

610-932-6640