OAHS Library: Databases: A-Z

Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Discover over 1,900 full-text journals and nearly 1,300 full-text peer-reviewed journals designed for college courses, with coverage consisting of biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology, and more.

Search and access all of our print and digital resources, including print books, eBooks, and audiobooks.

Ancestry Classroom provides educators with access to classroom resources, professional learning tools, and Ancestry historical record collections at no cost to help students find their personal place in history.

Extensive database of 20 million royalty-free stock photos for educational use from the photojournalists of world-wide news organization the Associated Press. More than 3,000 photos, images, sound bites, videos, and graphics added daily including breaking news events, today's hot topics, great moments in news, sports and entertainment, and celebrity portraits.

Accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.

Select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, it is hoped that this collection imbues the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter. Primary source documents from American History, and approximately 1,600 documents focused on six different phases of Black Freedom: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860), The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877), Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932), The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945), The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975), The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)

Scholastic's online literacy program for ages pre-K - 3 that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks on topics such as Animals and Nature, Earth and Sky, People and Places, ABC’s and 1, 2, 3’s, Family and Community, Music and Rhyme, Adventure, and more. BookFlix reinforces core reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration. Read alouds with with word highlighting and interactive games. Some films and books are available in Spanish too!

Search a single catalog reflecting the holdings of over 1,500 Pennsylvania libraries and their combined collections of over 41 million books, audio materials, reference materials, movies, and much more.

Britannica School Elementary is a comprehensive source of informational text for younger learners pre-K to grade 5. It includes encyclopedia articles, images, videos, and magazine articles. There is a Britannica Fundamentals section for children Pre-K through grade 2. Tools such as a world atlas, virtual tours, country comparison, etc., allow learners to explore geography and animal kingdom topics. A Britannica Fundamentals provides materials for children Pre-K through second-grade.

From the Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Curriculum-focused video streaming service created for high schools providing unlimited access to 27,000+ full-length videos, 240,000+ clips (and growing) of videos for ALL subject areas. Includes the over 4,000 Career & Technical Education Collection and 30,000+ video clips.

Biographical and bibliographical information on more than 160,000 of today's most influential authors, including novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, print & broadcast journalists, editors, photojournalists, syndicated cartoonists, scriptwriters, and screenwriters.

This collection includes hundreds of e-books from renowned family publisher Cricket Media. It can help build strong literacy skills in students from grades pre-K to 8 by offering digital access to award-winning, short-form fiction and nonfiction titles. This unique e-book collection explores a wide range of subjects to help young readers explore and expand their worlds.

Thousands of videos and digital resources curated by subject matter experts into content collections by grade and topic, including interactive activities, reading passages, audio clips, skill builders, and writing prompts that engage students and extend critical thinking. A one-stop-shop for teachers, it includes instructional resources such as lesson starters, training videos, and classroom strategies to help them invigorate every lesson. Teachers should email the librarian for access code to create a new account.

Covering civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus, Ebony includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
This fully searchable full-text archive provides analysis on African-American business, history, politics, entertainment, fashion and culture. Articles and cover pages are fully indexed and advertisements are individually identified, ensuring researchers and readers can quickly and accurately locate the information they seek.

Access to over 16,000 eBooks from the world's leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online. Additionally, you may download selected eBooks to portable devices.

Elementary students in kindergarten through grade five will find age-appropriate content covering a broad range of educational topics such as animals, arts, geography, health, literature, people, social studies, technology, etc. Kids InfoBits includes full-text proprietary content from Blackbirch Press®, U-X-L, KidHaven Press™, and more! Content is continuously updated and provides interesting and important facts with connections to current and past events. 16,600 kid-friendly Images, charts, graphs, and videos.

Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

A sophisticated yet simple solution for searching many Gale databases simultaneously, including a wealth periodical, reference, multimedia and primary source information from Academic OneFile, General OneFile, InfoTrac Newsstand.

International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Hundreds of continuously updated country profiles and reference, international news, podcasts, videos, interactive maps, and more.

Comprehensive e-resource drawing on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.

Secondary school student-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, and engaging multi-media covering a wide range of subjects, from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies including 2,000+ periodicals in full-text, thousands of images, audio files, and videos. Document and read aloud translation into and a unique visual search tool to connect concepts and guide the research.

Search and view the full-text of books on a wide array of topics right from your computer screen. Most titles also available in print on the library shelves. Now with the addition of thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subjects areas, from history to science, literature, and more.

A significant account of the issue of slavery and its impact on American society and culture. Documents key aspects of the history of slavery in the U.S., from its origins in Africa to its abolition, including materials on the slave trade, plantation life, emancipation, pro-slavery and anti-slavery arguments, religions views on slavery, and more. Access to a wide variety of documents – personal narratives, political speeches, sermons, plays, songs, poetic and fictional works, and more – published from the time of the transatlantic slave trade to the post-Civil War period.

Documents the revolution and war that created the U.S.A., from the Paris peace treaty in 1763 through the early protests in 1785 to the Paris peace treaty of 1783. Examines the political, social, and intellectual upheaval of the age, as well as the eight long years of conflict and war for American independence. A wealth of material from European point of view is included. The archive tells the whole story of the American Revolution – the experiences of commanders and common soldiers, women and slaves, American Indians and Loyalists are all recorded. A variety of primary source documents – personal narratives and memoirs, political pamphlets and speeches, sermons and poems, legislative journals and popular magazines, maps, and more.

Documents the war that transformed America, ended slavery, and unified the nation around the principles of freedom. The collection examines the war and all its complexity – causes, consequences, leaders and common soldiers, the home front, and the military campground, and more. Includes a variety of primary source documents – personal narratives and memoirs, pamphlets and political speeches, sermons and songs, regimental histories and photograph albums, legal treatises, and children’s books—unveiling a time when friends were enemies, and the United States was torn in half. Every aspect of the Civil War is covered: military, diplomatic, cultural, and legal history as well as special areas of study, including Southern history, African American history, medical history, technology history, and more.

Digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines including history, literature, art, science, philosophy, social science, mathematics, business, cultural studies, public health, security studies, and sustainability. Includes full-text of more than 2,700 top peer-reviewed scholarly and literary journals, 100,000 academic ebooks, images from universities, museums, and private collections, including Artstor, two million primary sources, and audio content.

LISTA
This e-resource indexes more than 700 journals in library science & technology plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960's.

A current and comprehensive literature database offering full-text criticism, literary analysis, biographies on 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, topic and work overviews, reviews, news, interviews, images, primary sources, audio, and other multimedia. Provides researchers with evidence to support their literary responses and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and perspectives are represented. Featured series: Books & Authors, Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Online, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, and Shakespeare Collection.

Access thousands of digital eBooks and audiobooks from our collection in MackinVIA. Download the MackinVIA app on your mobile device or use MackinVIA.com. Students have access to a wide array of fiction and nonfiction, including all the OAHS summer reading titles. LOGIN with district username and password.

Discover reliable and trusted information on a variety of topics to support middle school student research for government, U.S and world history, geography, literature, sciences, and social issues. Research In Context offers cross-curricular content aligned to national and state standards, and presents material organized into a highly visual and topic portal approach to quickly find answers. This unique database provides stellar support for papers, projects, and presentations while reinforcing the development of critical thinking and problem solving skills, communication, collaboration, creativity, and innovation.

Multilingual family history research database includes billions of historical documents from 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes, and additional resources that span the past five centuries including more than 19.4 billion historical records from all over the world, U.S. federal census (1790-1950) with images, U.K. census (1841-1901) with images, nearly 5 billion exclusive family tree profiles from MyHeritage and Geni, more than 816 million US public records, hundreds of millions of Nordic records, more than 100 million gravestone photos, more than 500 million historical photographs, military records, immigration records and passenger lists, citizenship and naturalization records, directories, guides, references, biographies and yearbooks, government, land and court records, wills and probate records, exclusive databases, additional content under license including tributes obituaries, WikiTree, BillionGraves, Canadian Headstones and many others ,More than 100 million records added every month

This iconic monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of society, cultures, nature, science, technology, travel, geography, and more -- an essential resource for educators, students, and general readers. Includes complete, unlimited access to the magazine main content through 2020 -- every article from every issue, each fully searchable through an intuitive interface. Vivid photographs and historic articles as well as engaging videos and detailed maps. Explore the most recognized name in exploration and discovery, with comprehensive, relevant articles, legendary photographs, maps, and map supplements, the iconic magazine documents life on our planet and beyond, interpreting the world through the lens of personal story and experience

Browse and read full-text newspapers from more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, plus leading titles from around the world, or search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts, and transcripts. Full-text access to The New York Times from 1985 to present

Web-based online research organizer designed to help students navigate the research process providing step-by-step guidance for creating accurate source citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago style, responsible notetaking, creating outlines, and organizing and synthesizing information. Noodlebib will format and print your bibliography and is accessible from any internet-connected device.

Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the Opposing Viewpoints book series, the database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio and links to vetted websites.

Explore millions of digitized photographs, documents, and newspapers from Pennsylvania's rich and varied history. The collections are provided by libraries and other organizations across the Commonwealth, and include collections covering subjects such as:Art & Architecture, Church & Missionary History, Genealogy, Newspapers, PA Civil War History, Postcards, School and College History, Women’s History, and Yearbooks.

Discover job resources for Pennsylvania job seekers and employers. These Pennsylvania government provided resources are designed to help you find a good career, review job openings, and match you with employers. Resources for veterans are available too that will help veterans transition into the work force by translating their existing military skills into civilian terms.

Daily access to in-depth local coverage, sports, business, culture and more. Includes access to Monday through Friday and Sunday editions.

Access local and regional news, sports, weather, traffic, nightlife directory, commentary, and more with the electronic all week day and Sunday editions of the Philadelphia Inquirer.

Thousands of digital magazine and journal articles, newspapers, photographs, pictures, charts, maps, and reference materials for people of all ages. Outside of school, use www.ccls.org and your public library card number to access POWER Library databases. https://powerlibrary.org/e-resources/?all=y&ID=PL2623

This resource includes 112 titles on diversity, equity, and inclusion, and cover subjects such as business, education, fine arts, history, political science, social science, juvenile literature, and sports and recreation.

Online edition of the library's print collection of award-winning Salem Press titles including historical primary sources, literary reference, and health resources.

Explore science from over 230 full-text eBooks! This collection of reference titles covers a wide variety of topics such as animals, biology, climate change, computing, engineering, experiments, life science, nature, oceans, physical science, and weather. Find titles such as:

Content focused on history, health, language arts, math, science, social studies, technology, and a dedicated issues database with opposing viewpoints and critical thinking questions. All newspaper, magazine, and reference book content is 100% full text, editorially-selected from over 2,200 reliable, high-quality global sources, including 400 full-text nonfiction books from publishers such as Britannica, World Book, Rosen Publishing Group, Enslow, and ReferencePoint Press.

Find detailed repair guides for all types of small engines. Offers assistance in providing routine maintenance (tune-ups, brake service) as well as extensive repairs such as engine and transmission disassembly. Search by product type, brand, model/engine type, specific area of model/engine type and model numbers.

Indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals for teachers and educators.

Extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. The 4,000 issues include reports of national and international current events, politics, sports, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news for a given week, the magazine remains an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-Century history and life. The archive is valuable to researchers and students of 20th-Century current events, politics and culture, as well as those interested in the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.

Dust off your old high school Spanish, or tackle your tenth language! After initial access, preview as a "guest" or create an individual account to begin learning any of the 120+ languages, including American Sign Language,
English (ESL/ELL) learning content for speakers of over 30 languages, 30+ endangered North American and world languages. Practice listening, speaking, reading, and writing/typing with interactive lessons and courses.
Build and maintain your vocab with vocab-focused lessons and a strategic review system that keeps it all fresh.
Learn anytime, anywhere with mobile apps that include offline and hands-free modes. Explore a wide range of interests through courses focused on travel, workplace language, and beyond

Learn about people, places, nature, history, and science from videos and eBooks on topics such as American Indians, Ancient Civilizations, Farm to Table, The Civil War, Continents, The Thirteen Colonies, U.S. Government, Disasters, Earth Science, Experiments, Extreme Science, Nature, and many more.

Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Magazine archive featuring a broad variety of topics in current events, politics and business, and is well known for its ranked lists of businesses and institutions. With 4,900 issues included, the Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-century current events, politics, business, economics, as well as those interested in the history of journalism, advertising, education, science, and technology, and popular culture.

An online version of the World Book Encyclopedia enhanced with multimedia content, e-books, primary sources, biographies, a dictionary, an atlas, and thousands of editor-selected Web sites.

Designed for middle and high school students who benefit from differentiated instruction, Discover includes reference articles, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, research tools, multimedia, and interactive video.

Online resource designed for preschoolers and children in early grades organized into four graphically stimulating, interactive learning sites featuring: narrated stories, interactive games, and original videos that teach critical early childhood themes, including numbers, shapes, colors, opposites, and more; 48 stories in 4 Lexile® measures reading levels which can be printed and folded into hands-on books; a first encyclopedia with dynamic visual navigation that encourages exploration of nonfiction topics; and early classic celebrated stories, nursery rhymes, and sing-along songs with voice-over narration and word-for-word highlighting. Downloadable audio files of your favorite Early World Classics as MP3s. Optimized for use on iPad.

eBooks contain something for all ages and all subjects. This digital library includes highly illustrated, engaging titles that span the curriculum and reading levels. Some books include interactive games, quizzes, and activities to enrich learning. Updates and new titles added regularly!

Integrated with World Book Kids and designed for elementary students, this learning resource features highly visual articles written in Spanish at an earlier reading level. This offers World Book's excellent editorial content, rich media, and interactive features, all in Spanish.

Designed for students in elementary school and based on World Book's award-winning Discovery Encyclopedia, World Book Kids is a children’s learning website that includes thousands of easy-to-read articles, engaging images and illustrations, interactive games and activities, and teacher resources for children. 



Designed for students in middle school, this online learning website includes articles from The World Book Encyclopedia, a Biography Center, dictionary, atlas, an extensive multimedia collection, thousands of editor-selected websites, correlations to curriculum standards, and much more. World Book Student is optimized to work on your iPad or other tablets!

Dive in to history with this unique, interactive view! Timelines offers hundreds of pre-generate timelines across eight broad topics, which cover various time periods in history or span the life of historical public figures. Users can also create their own timelines from scratch, adding events, descriptions, and media.

Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.