NPR's Student Podcast Challenge invites students from around the country to create a podcast and compete for a chance to have your work featured on NPR. The contest will reopen for entries in January 2024. Teacher involvement is required. Deadline for submissions will be in March 2024. Check out the link above for general information, their submission guidelines and previous winners.
Each spring, the New York Times invites teenagers to submit original podcasts of five minutes or less. Creations can be about anything that interests you, in any form that you like. Favorites are featured on The NYT Learning Network. See last year's contest website and podcast contest flyer for guidelines and rules. Entries typically accepted early April through mid May. 2024 information to come.
Step by Step Guide for the Rodecaster Pro II integrated audio production studio
The only royalty-free audio that meets all licensing requirements for grades K-12.
Royalty free music for videos
Incompetch - royalty free music
Sound effects + 5000 free sound effects recorded, designed and produced by a team of audio professionals who own the copyrights to all the sound effects on this website, which can be safely used in projects. Read the License Agreement. It tells you what you can and cannot do with our free sound effects.
BBC Sound Effects - The BBC Sound Effects Archive is available for personal, educational or research purposes. There are over 33,000 clips from across the world from the past 100 years. These include clips made by the BBC Radiophonic workshop, recordings from the Blitz in London, special effects made for BBC TV and Radio productions, as well as 15,000 recordings from the Natural History Unit archive. You can explore sounds from every continent - from the college bells ringing in Oxford to a Patagonian waterfall - or listen to a submarine klaxon or the sound of a 1969 Ford Cortina door slamming shut. As well as browsing and searching through this treasure trove of sounds, you can also make and share your own mixes and soundscapes using the ‘mixer mode’ function. Use the mixer to layer, edit and re-order clips from the archive to create your own sounds.
FMA: Welcome to the Free Music Archive - Free Music Archive (FMA), founded in 2009 by radio station WFMU, offers free access to open licensed, original music. Historically, radio has always offered the public free access to new music. So with the help of curators, netlabels and thousands of independent musicians around the world FMA became a continuation of that purpose. Tens of millions of visitors every month download music for personal use and many share and remix music from FMA in videos, podcasts, films, games, apps and even school projects.
Freesound - Freesound aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, and all sorts of bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse. Freesound provides new and interesting ways of accessing these samples, allowing users to:
RODE- Ambisonic Sound Library - From natural ambience to urban sprawl – take inspiration from all corners of the globe with this curated selection of high-quality royalty-free ambisonic recordings captured using the ‘SoundField by RØDE’ NT-SF1 ambisonic microphone.
SoundBible - SoundBible.com offers free sound clips for download in either wav or mp3 format. We have free and royalty free sound effects and clips for video editors, movie scores, game designers, and weekend sound warriors. Downloads are totally free, and upfront with large download buttons to prevent confusion.
Citizen DJ - The Citizen DJ project invites the public to make hip hop music using the free-to-use audio and video collections from the Library of Congress. By embedding these materials in hip hop music, listeners can discover items in the Library’s vast collections that they likely would never have known existed.
Creative Commons: Legal Music For Videos - Creative Commons is a system that allows you to legally use “some rights reserved” music, movies, images, and other content — all for free. CC offers free copyright licenses that anyone can use to mark their creative work with the freedoms they want it to carry.
99 Sounds - free collection of cinematic impacts, braams, earth-shattering subs, and other modern sound effects.
SoundGator - use sound effects in your films, videos, multimedia projects, presentations, apps, games and just about any other project - but you are not allowed to sell, license, distribute or post online the sound effects on their own, in any form as standalone sound effects (audio, video or data), even if you modify them.
